GAP Year


GAP Year --- "It can be structured or unstructured, and directed toward career, academic or purely personal pursuits. Most fundamentally, it is a time to step back and reflect, to gain perspective on personal values and goals, or to gain needed life experience in a setting separate from and independent of one’s accustomed pressures and expectations."

Time out or Burn out for the Next Generation
By William Fitzsimmons-Dean of Admissions and Financial Aid - Harvard 

Cultural Immersion Programs - The Guide

Remember that taking a Gap Year isn’t for everyone. If you already know exactly what you want to
 major in, and you think that you are mature enough for the intense work that comes along with college, then you probably want to continue on to college right after high school.
Weigh out your options and pick the best decision for you.
If you do decide to take a year off, it is best to apply to college during your senior year of high school. After you receive an acceptance to the college, you can request to have the acceptance deferred for one year. Some colleges will allow you to defer; others will request that you reapply.
Be sure to make a plan and set goals for your gap year. Decide on an activity that will be beneficial for you in the long run, such as volunteering in a foreign country, exploring different career paths, or improving your study skills.
Whatever you decide to do, one thing is for certain: you will enroll in college a changed person. 





Here are just a few programs
American Field Service                                    
www.afs.org

AmeriCorps (Corporation for National Service)  www.cns.gov/americorps

Amigos de Las Americas                                                www.amigoslink.org

Audubon Expedition Institute                           www.aei-audubon.org

Au Sable Institute for Environnemental Studies  www.ausable.org

British American Education Foundation                        www.baef.org

Bridges: Study Abroad                                       www.bridgesstudyabroad.com

Broad Reach                                                     www.gobroadreach.com

Center for Interim Programs                             www.interimprograms.com

City-Year                                                          www.city-year.com

Dynamy                                                            www.dynamy.org

Earth Corp                                                       www.earthcorp.org

Earth Watch                                                      www.earthwatch.org

Full Sail Center for Recording Arts                    www.fullsail.com

Foundation for Foreign Study                           www.effoundation.org

Habitat for Humanity                                        www.habitat.org

High Mountain Institute                                                www.hminet.org

ICA Journeys                                                    www.icajourneys.org

GlobalQuest                                                     www.gquest.org

Global Routes                                                   www.globalroutes.org

Ithaka                                                                www.ithakasemester.org

Interlocken/Windsor Mountain                         www.windsormountain.org

LEAPNow                                                        www.leapnow.org

Leysin American School-Switzerland                 www.las.ch

National Outdoor Leadership School                 www.nols.edu

NACEL Open Door                                          www.nacelopendoor.org

Outward Bound                                                           www.outwardbound.org

Oxford Advanced Studies Program                    www.oasp.as.uk

Pacific Village                                                   www.pacificvillage.org

Peace Corp                                                       www.peacecorps.gov

Rotary International Exchange                           www.rotary.org

Sea Mester                                                        www.seamester.org

Student Conservation Association                      www.sca-inc.org

Studio Art Centers International Florence                      www.saci-florence.org

Up With People                                                            www.upwithpeople.org

The School for Field Studies                             www.fieldstudies.org

TASIS Schools                                                  www.tasis.com

Where There Be Dragons                                  www.wheretherebedragons.com

Youth For Understanding                                 www.youthforunderstanding.org

 

 



 


Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2017 West Corporation. All rights reserved.